alice grass

Let's Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

Wednesday, October 10, 2012


I am soooo glad I read this book... it was great!  Here is the goodreads description:


For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text


First off I do NOT read non-fiction. I just don't enjoy it.  Typically it is boring to me... I feel bad for saying that.  I want to like non-fiction because I think it would make me a more informed and educated person.  I think the last non-fiction I read was Dewey the Library Cat and I didn't even finish it.  But THIS book here... WOW.  I only put it on hold at the library because I had seen some bloggers review it and then I heard Jenny the author was coming to Denver for a book signing (which I didn't go to after all).  So when the book came in, I glanced at her blog.  I thought the blog was pretty cool, I hadn't visited it before shockingly.  And then I glanced through the book and went ahead and read chapter one and I was HOOKED.

I will admit towards the end I start to get bored.  Not because of the book but just because non-fiction does that to me.  But otherwise this book is hilarious.  The author has such a great way of writing that makes her life seem like fiction.  I am a little confused though as to what was fiction and what was non-fiction.  So not sure if that is a good thing in a non-fiction book.  I had also heard before I started reading that Jenny has anxiety.  I also have anxiety so I was looking forward to the parts in her book that were about this.  There was a little bit in there but not as much as I would've like on the subject.

I can say I now follow her blog.  I am also looking forward to her next book.  I am assuming there will be a next book.  Jenny just writes with such ease, it's like she's sitting on the couch next to me telling me some great stories.  Read this book.. even if you don't like non-fiction like myself!

The crystal ball says:
 

divider

10 comments:

  1. Very nice blog angela..
    Your thoughts are nice.
    Keep writing.

    For blogger tutorials watch:
    www.MyBloggerNews.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. This one was hilarious! I'm glad to see you enjoyed it, and that you're reading her blog. Her posts are too funny. :) You're in luck on a next book, she posted a blurb about it on her blog: http://thebloggess.com/2012/09/furiously-happy-2/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks sooo much for posting that link! BOOK 2!! I just can't wait!!!

      Delete
  3. And now I feel like I need to go on a personal mission to try and find non-fiction titles that you'll love. ;)

    I haven't read this one and I'm not sure I will. I loved Tina Fey's Bossypants and enjoy Sedaris but I've heard that this one is just way too over the top. Too bad about the bits about her anxiety. The the truth/non-truth bits. That's always frustrating in a book that is supposed to be non-fiction.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. OH I am up to try all books... so if you have any recommendations for non-fiction I am in!

      Delete
  4. My sister was cracking up when she was reading this book so of course I had to read it too! BUT... Ah! I didn't find it funny at all. I mean, she is funny and the way she writes makes things funny but the actual things that happened to her and that are supposed to be hilarious were not my kind of funny.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's funny that I think I have the same sense of humor as my sister... but then she recommends books to me and I just can't get into them! Like Map of the Sky...boring!!

      Delete
  5. Loved this. Have never laughed out loud so many times while reading quietly. More than once, I laughed til I cried my make-up off. Not good for those of you who're put off by blunt truth, sarcasm, or swear words.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh yes! Your review is so right on the money with mine. I wouldn't have gone to the book signing except for the fact my sister wanted to go, I'm going to tell you this again in reply to the comment on my blog. :)

    ReplyDelete

Copyright © 2014 Angela's Anxious Life
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs