Monday, April 28, 2014

Top Ten Books for Fans of Clue!


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish in which book bloggers are given a topic and asked to make a corresponding list of their top ten books. This week's topic is Top Ten Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play etc. (basically any sort of other entertainment).  I love love the game Clue.  I am obsessed with it actually.  I swear I outsmart everyone in the game! So I thought I would pick some books that were similar to the whodunnit idea. 

What do you have on your list this time???

50 comments:

  1. I have never played clue. But I know the gist of it - Miss Scarlet in the Pantry with the candlestick - yes?
    I've read a few Stephanie Plum books, the Da Vinci Code and I ADORE John Grisham. Great list - and I will definitely consider A is for Alibi - I've heard great things about this series and I love the theme of the titles. Now all I need is to play Clue!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've heard a lot of good things about A is for Alibi. I remember playing Clue. I think you've picked some great choices!

    ReplyDelete
  3. What an awesome idea for a list! I didn't even think about board games and table tops. I wish I had Clue, I am so bad at it but it's just so much fun! Great book picks!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I just read, and absolutely LOVED Shadow of the Wind. Amazing series, I hope there will be more!! :) If you liked Nancy Drew, did you ever read Trixie Belden? I preferred her. She was younger and more real to me than Nancy.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love Clue so much.... I wish more people loved it like me. I did play the Harry Potter themed Clue and it really wasn't the same at all. They made it so complicated. A is for Alibi is really good.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks... Clue is great. My family and I play it every year for the holidays if we are together.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Honestly I don't know why how how the idea came to me. I had been sitting here trying to think of something. I even asked my husband for suggestions and he ho hummed out of the room.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't read Trixie Belden. I'll have to look it up. I just saw on your blog that you finished the third book in the Shadow of the Wind. Amazing series.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Jessica @ a GREAT readApril 29, 2014 at 4:26 AM

    OOh nice mystery choices!! Loved playing clue!

    Here's my Tuesday post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. What a cool idea! I'm glad you chose the game instead of the movie :) I've only read a few of these, but the ones you chose seem perfect (especially The DaVinci Code and The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie)

    ReplyDelete
  11. This is a wonderful post. I think it is great that you went with a game :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. darn it, now I want to play the game!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Oh I love whodunnit stories! Have already read One For the Money, Sherlock and The Da Vinci Code, but I'll look up the others :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Yes I totally agree with you on Nancy Drew and Clue. I also played most of Nancy Drew's PC games because they are amazingly awesome :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. I LOVE this list. I love Clue, Shadow of The Wind, The Firm, Sherlock Holmes, and The DaVinci Code. Totally following!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I like the movie... it is a totally cheese fest. But the game has always been fascinating to me. I like the little peak inside of the mansion and looking at the different furniture inside the rooms.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Love this game!!! I wish I could play it online with people.

    ReplyDelete
  18. I think you would love the Eight!! That is a really really good book. It is getting old now though so not many people talk about it.

    ReplyDelete
  19. I love Nancy Drew and the Carmon Sandiego game. Those were really fun. I wonder if they are making any new ones of those games???

    ReplyDelete
  20. LOL! Well thanks... these are great books and a great theme. Glad you had fun reading this post!

    ReplyDelete
  21. moonglint @akernelofnonsenseApril 29, 2014 at 11:11 AM

    Great list. My first thought when I read your topic was Agatha Christie. I don't read many mystery novels but I enjoyed her And Then There Were None.



    My
    TTT

    ReplyDelete
  22. I love the game (and movie) Clue too! And yay for The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. That series is AMAZING!

    ReplyDelete
  23. What a fun topic!! I like mysteries, so I think I'd enjoy a lot of these.


    Lauren from www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  24. I love Clue though I am not really great at it. I haven't read a good mystery in a while so thanks for these picks.

    ReplyDelete
  25. Humm... I will have to try out Agatha Christie. I have never read one of her books before.

    ReplyDelete
  26. Clue is so fun!! The more I read comments the more I want to play the game. Too bad it's not that fun with just two people. You really need four to make it super fun.

    ReplyDelete
  27. I love it too.. the movie is so fun. I can actually quote it when it's on the TV. I also had a VCR tape game it was so much fun. I wish they would re-release it on DVD.

    ReplyDelete
  28. I love the game Clue and the movie!! Tim Curry is too perfect in it. I love that you have Nancy Drew on there... perfect choice!

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  29. Nice! I haven't played Clue for years. So original to do a list based on a game. :D Great picks! :D

    My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  30. I love Clue- one of my favorite board games along with Monopoly. Although we haven't played it in ages... like the movie too, just for silliness and that 80's factor. Wish they'd do a really good remake...

    ReplyDelete
  31. I almost did a list on a video game but didn't think that many of my readers had played too many of those. So I chose Clue!

    ReplyDelete
  32. A remake would be so much fun. Recently my local theater had a Clue night and I wish I would've went to see it. It would've been neat.

    ReplyDelete
  33. Love Clue! Family favorite! Have you ever read Agatha Christie's "And then there were none"? Rumor has it the game Clue was based off of this story. Remember the VCR Clue game?

    ReplyDelete
  34. Emily @ Oh Magic HourApril 30, 2014 at 9:06 AM

    Oh how I love the Flavia de Luce books!! So excellent!

    ReplyDelete
  35. These are some great choices. I love the Sherlock Holmes books. I have this collection actually. Nancy Drew also a great choice, I haven't read Sue Grafton before but I have always wondered if they were any good.

    ReplyDelete
  36. Yes... not sure if you can see the comments above but I mentioned the VCR game and posted a picture. I didn't know about Clue being based off that book. I am going to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  37. Me too!!! I love that they aren't totally for young adults. I think they are actually more of adult books.

    ReplyDelete
  38. They are good... but easy simple reads. Only take a few hours to read and finish.

    ReplyDelete
  39. Love CLUE! I also love The Eight, could have done without The Fire though. I just reread The Rule of Four by Ian Damsel.

    ReplyDelete
  40. THERE IS A WHOLE SERIES of Nancy Drew's Her Interactive games. And they're still being made! They are sooooo good. I think you would like them

    ReplyDelete
  41. Since I loved the Eight so much every one always tells me to read The Rule of Four. I hear it is soooo good. I think my mom has it .. maybe I will borrow it from her.

    ReplyDelete
  42. Cluedo!!!!! :D :D :D I ADORE that game but haven't played it for such a long time :D. Great recs, I'll definitely be looking them up :) xxx

    ReplyDelete
  43. Darlene @ Lost in LiteratureMay 4, 2014 at 6:56 AM

    Oh it's so nice to find someone who loves CLUE!! I can never get anyone around here to play it! Nice list, I love The Firm and I think I'll try to get to a few of these others on the list. I'm with the others, Agatha Christie comes to mind. Great post!

    ReplyDelete
  44. I can't really get people to play it either. Sucks... I wish I could just have a Clue night. With wine and everyone dressing up. The books on the list are great mysteries. I did see there is a Clue book series too but since I haven't read it before I didn't include it in my list.

    ReplyDelete