alice grass

What's Next?

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Here's how it works (for those of you who want to participate): -Every Thursday,  select three-five books (not too many, not too little!) that you want to read but can't decide which one to read first. -Post the cover, and if you want, the synopsis or even a random line from the book, for each of your selections. -At the end of your post, ask readers to vote on which one you should read next! Even if you don't end up reading your readers' top choice, you'll know what the majority is excited for. So who's up for it? Be sure to grab a button and link up your posts. And leave me a comment telling me what you think! This is hosted by Icey Books!


OK so I am participating in this because this week I have quite a few books to chose from!!!



"What do you imagine when you hear the name" . . . Bradbury? You might see rockets to Mars. Or bizarre circuses where otherworldly acts whirl in the center ring. Perhaps you travel to a dystopian future, where books are set ablaze . . . or to an out-of-the-way sideshow, where animated illustrations crawl across human skin. Or maybe, suddenly, you're returned to a simpler time in small-town America, where summer perfumes the air and life is almost perfect . . . "almost." Ray Bradbury--peerless storyteller, poet of the impossible, and one of America's most beloved authors--is a literary giant whose remarkable career has spanned seven decades. Now twenty-six of today's most diverse and celebrated authors offer new short works in honor of the master; stories of heart, intelligence, and dark wonder from a remarkable range of creative artists.






For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.




Coming down from the mountain to a new life in the city seems a thrill beyond imagining. When Miri and her friends from Mount Eskel set off to help the future princess Britta prepare for her royal wedding, she is happy about her chance to attend school in the capital city. There, Miri befriends students who seem so sophisticated and exciting... until she learns that they have some frightening plans. They think that Miri will help them, that she "should "help them. Soon Miri finds herself torn between loyalty to the princess and her new friends' ideas, between an old love and a new crush, and between her small mountain home and the bustling city. Picking up where "Princess Academy "left off, this incredible stand-alone story celebrates the joys of friendship, the delight of romance, and the fate of a beloved fairy tale kingdom.





After pulling some spectacular heists, Amy and Dan have become two of Interpol's most wanted criminals. So when Vesper One orders them to steal the world's largest diamond, they know they're facing life in prison...or worse. But with the Cahill hostages still in peril, Amy and Dan have no choice but to launch a mission that leads them to an ancient city full of dangerous secrets. With a Vesper mole sabotaging the Madrigals from inside, Amy and Dan have to fulfill their enemy's request before it's too late. Vesper One has developed a taste for killing Cahills, and Amy and Dan aren't going to wait to see who's next.





So what do you think?  I have them all sitting right here from the library but I just have to pick the order to read them in!!!!
divider

6 comments:

  1. It's still Thursday at your place?
    It's morning here. :)
    This meme is a great idea. I would participate in it next week. Anyway if it's me I would read the Palace of Stone first. It sounds good. :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. hahah yes it's still Thursday.. but not for long!!! :)

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. I can't wait to read it.... it's the second book... the first one being Princess Academy!

      Delete

Copyright © 2014 Angela's Anxious Life
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs